Fair Woodworking

November 27, 2011

A dovetailed birds eye maple picture box

Filed under: dove tail,dovetail,Favorites,Hand tools,Things I've made — fairwoodworking @ 11:21 pm

A while back I salvaged some stair treads from a reno job that I thought were birch. They were 1 1/8 thick so I was able to resaw them (by hand) into 1/2 inch boards.

As you can see, some of the birch turned out to be Birds Eye Maple…

Sweet.

After getting all the pieces down to final dimensions, I had to try my hand (first time) at making some stopped grooves.

Like with most of my work. This was a slow process.

Anyways, After what seemed like a lifetime, of dovetailing, panel raising, lid making, and hinge mortising, it was done.

Finished with tongue oil, a box that will either fit 4 x 8 pictures or recipe cards.

It’s riddled with mistakes from just about every tool that made contact with it, but to the untrained eye, it’s better than you’d get from IKEA.

With the exception of a couple of rough cuts with the miter and table saw, this was entirely a hand tool project. The lid and the bottom were made with left over scraps from the same tread as the birds eye.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

