Fair Woodworking

December 4, 2011

You will be “bob”, and you will be “larry”

I was first introduced to woodworking in the most general sense when I got a job as a trim carpenter. On day one I was as green as green can be. No seriously! I didn’t know how to use a tape measure. What I mean is I’d so badly forgotten fractions that other than 3/4, 1/2, and 1/4, I was lost. I had a lot to learn, but there was no way I was going to let the boss know I was that clueless. “These other increments need names or I’m done”, I thought, “You will be ‘bob’, and you will be ‘larry’.”

So when I measured 3/8″ I wrote 1/4+bob, and 9/16″ was 1/2+larry.

15/16″ ? You guessed it, 3/4+bob+larry.

Bob, and Larry served me well until I learned my 8ths, and 16ths.

I have no intention of ever learning my 32nds.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

