Fair Woodworking

April 2, 2012

A simple box with only hand tools. Part 7

EDITORS NOTE *** This post is experiencing 3rd party photo hosting “issues”, that will be addressed as time allows. ***

 

Click HERE to read the whole story.

One of the last steps before assembly is creating the bottom of the box. I usually do a raised panel for this. Someone asked a while ago what my reason was that I took the time and effort to raise a panel, and originally it was just because I liked the look of it. There is the argument that it is stronger, but this is just a little box, and shouldn’t need extra strength. What really got me sold on them was the time, I thought I wouldn’t “invest” the time it takes to raise it, and rather just dimension the board down to ¼” thick. That was when I realized it was much less work to put a wide bevel on a board than it was to scrub half its thickness off!

I start by drawing things out on the edge. The groove is a ¼” deep and a ¼” wide. The board is ½” thick so the darkened area needs removing for sure. I measure 1” in and mark a diagonal line from it to where the two ¼” lines intersect. With that beveled angle, it should slide nicely into the groove.

You will notice I mark lines on the edge and on the face of the board. When I’ve planed the lines away it is time to stop. I’ve in the past used my marking gauge, but it cuts a line in the wood that you then have to also plane away. Pencil is much better. You will also notice that I start across the grain, and then will turn the board counter clock wise. This is so that if there is any splintering when I work across the grain it gets cleaned up when I rotate and work with the grain.

In the background you can see part of the plane I used. It’s the Veritas skewed angle rabbet plane. I find it handy because of the adjustable fence.

I’m pretty much winging it, as I have no idea what the angle is.

I’m just doing it by eye.

In hindsight, I planed too much off here. I should have stopped just before the pencil mark as I still needed to smooth the edge, and have some room to fine tune. Now I have nothing to aim for.

Now I go to work with the grain. Still planning by eye, I get to play a game similar to connect the dots. This time it is “connect the points”. When I’ve aligned all the points, this side is done.

And here it is with its first coat of verithane. I like to have at least one coat on a raised panel before assembly because once it is in the groves you could only then apply to the exposed areas. If the board shrinks any you would then see unfinished wood. I think the official term for this is “picture framing”.

If you remember from before, I showed a board that I’d cut away a big knot but board still cracked? This is the board. I would have preferred to use it for the lid because it is the nicer looking of the two, but I’m just a little concerned that the crack might just sneak up on me one day. If it happens on the bottom it’s not a big deal so the nicer of the two will end up hidden on the bottom.

As you can see, it’s a top of a bunch of nicely stickered boards with pins and tails.

It won’t be long now….

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

