Fair Woodworking

April 13, 2012

All hail ME!!!

Filed under: Picture issues,Skill development — fairwoodworking @ 2:15 pm

EDITORS NOTE *** This post is experiencing 3rd party photo hosting “issues”, that will be addressed as time allows. ***

 

For I am great! Stand in awe and wonder as I display my greatness!

Actually, all I did was learn how to cut glass… It’s pretty cool to do, and if you can do it without bleeding, it makes you feel like you have god like powers. But I guess I don’t, so you can stop preparing to worship me. I’d rather not be struck by lightning.

As you can see, I’ve already done 2 practice cuts, just to see if I could do it.

If you have never done this before, this tool is the key to it. I’d always thought that it would literally cut part way through the glass, and that sounded scary. It’s nothing that dramatic. All you have to do is score a line with this thing like you would with a marking knife. The difference is that there is a little wheel about 1/8th of an inch off the edge. This wheel does all the work.

I want the cut to be at 11″ so I make a mark at 11 – 1/8″ so the wheel lands at 11″. Obviously I mark the other end as well…

I’ll use my straight edge as a, well, a straight edge, but I’ve place that blue shop towel under it as a gasket so it won’t slip around too much.

How’s your eyesight? Can you see that wee little scribe line? It was hard enough to see in person, but that is all it needed.

I line up the scribe line with the edge of my bench, get a firm grip on each piece, and …..

Pop.

It’s done. You can see the screw up I made on my first practice cut if you look a the bottom left corner of that small piece. You don’t want the scribe line to wander. Even though I made an extra heavy correct line, it still broke at the wandering line.

I guess you only get one chance.

Blog at WordPress.com.

