Fair Woodworking

April 23, 2012

Dovetailed Pencil Box in Pine

Filed under: dove tail,dovetail,Hand tool,Picture issues,Pins,Tails,Things I've made — fairwoodworking @ 2:02 pm

EDITORS NOTE *** This post is experiencing 3rd party photo hosting “issues”, that will be addressed as time allows. ***

 

Last year, I joined my local woodworking club just in time for their annual woodworking challenge. They give each member a 4 foot long 1×6 board of clear pine with the goal of building something with it.

There was the option to add another wood if we liked so long as it was not any more than the board we were given. With this size of box, the provided wood was just enough.

We donated the finished projects to our local children’s hospital and were sold at their store. As I understand it, they are fund-raising so they can buy some badly needed equipment that they can not fit in the budget.

It went together pretty well, but I’m not a big fan of the dimensions. It’s roughly 4″x4″x8″, and in my opinion, at least an inch too tall.

As is my way, I like to use a raised panel for the bottom.

I don’t know why I like the sliding top design so much. Could just be that it is less expensive than a set of hinges…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

