Fair Woodworking

May 7, 2012

I’ll take it as a win.

Filed under: chisel,Picture issues,Sharpening,Skill development — fairwoodworking @ 2:01 pm

EDITORS NOTE *** This post is experiencing 3rd party photo hosting “issues”, that will be addressed as time allows. ***

 

In the spirit of craftsmanship of risk, you have to be willing to take the good with the bad. More often than not I’m getting my butt kicked to some degree, so I’m taking a sec to celebrate a very small win.

Ya, I know it doesn’t look like much, but it you have to know what to look for in this one. I was just chopping out the waste here, and rather aggressively at that. Chopping 1/8″ to 3/16″ at a time, in a wood that is some kind of ultra soft pine. A common complaint is that pine crushes too easily under an edged tool. To my amazement despite my aggressive approach, it wasn’t crushing at all….

Huh…. I guess I’m getting better at this sharpening thing….

I’ll take that as a win.

Blog at WordPress.com.

