Fair Woodworking

May 18, 2012

I talk to myself

Filed under: Fair Woodworking's 7 Deadly Sins,Picture issues — fairwoodworking @ 3:04 pm

EDITORS NOTE *** This post is experiencing 3rd party photo hosting “issues”, that will be addressed as time allows. ***

 

The first time I saw a picture of a Bill Carter plane, I really wasn’t impressed. I didn’t think much of it, and wondered why anyone would want to buy one. They looked rather raw and rustic. I had to think that if I wanted and old looking plane, I’d just get an old plane.

Some time after, I found myself in the shop of a fellow woodworker. As it happened, he was the proud new owner of his own Bill Carter plane. Inwardly I smirked to myself, and more out of politeness, I asked if I could see it.

The deadly sin of Greed

It’s confession time. I don’t think buddy knows the whole story, I don’t think I ever mentioned it…

I’m a pretty honest person. I’d like to think I am anyways. But what happened next makes me wonder.

Time slowed down as he placed that little plane in my hands. I’d never seen anything, nor felt anything like that plane at that moment. How is it that this plane, this tiny piece of reclaimed metal. So raw, and marvelously rustic, could be so…. so, perfect.

Time stopped.

“Self”, I said, “you’ve never touched perfection before”.

“No, I suppose you are right”

“Who’s to say you ever will again”

“Well what am I to do?”

“You know what to do”

“I have to give it back”

“NO!!!”

“Pardon me?” I asked myself.

“You can run”

“WHAT?”

“Pop him on the head, and run”

“Have you lost your mind!?!”

“My Precious…….”

………

..

In a cold sweat, and my ears ringing, I gingerly handed the plane back.

What just happened?

To this day, I can’t explain those few moments, other than to say that greed is always around the corner. That’s not to say that we are all on the verge of theft, and assault with a miniature hand plane, but whether it’s keeping up with the Joneses, or who gets the last pork chop.

Greed is waiting for you…

Blog at WordPress.com.

