Fair Woodworking

May 25, 2012

Triangle Shaped Plates

Filed under: Fair Woodworking's 7 Deadly Sins — fairwoodworking @ 2:06 pm

“I’ve never understood people who build furniture using pallet wood and an Altendorf table saw. Well, I guess I understand them, I just don’t happen to sympathize.

When I buy materials for my projects, I can’t imagine skimping on the wood, the hardware or the tools I use in the shop. For me, it’s a lot like cooking. Getting a good meal from a typical grocery-store steak is difficult to impossible.”

— Christopher Schwarz

I had to laugh when I read this. I take no offense to it, I just can see that Chris and I are (in this case) from totally different worlds. For one, I hate (I use the word “hate” too much) cooking. I also hate have a strong dislike for fine food. It’s just too she-she, and frou-frou for my tastes. You wann’a add a garnish to my meal, then slap a scoop of mashed potatoes beside that blue rare steak. I don’t go for that artistic stuff either. Don’t waste my time with some lime and jasmine drizzle, that’s time I’m not chowing down!

And somebody tell me how a giant triangle plate makes it taste any better!?

God made plates round for a reason people.

…..

…….

Seem to have gone off course again….

The real thing that got me in this statement was about reclaiming wood. I get that you don’t necessarily want to be limited by the dimensions, and quality afforded by pallet wood, but some of us still have big plans for some truly horrible designs, and absolutely critical woodworking errors. Nice wood limits my freedom to fail miserably.

Don’t get me wrong. I like working with select materials, but I have this one little issue.

I have access to a lot of reclaimed, salvage wood, and I just can’t say no to it.

The Deadly Sin of Gluttony

I hate prefer not to use MDF, but I see a metric ton of partial sheets that would other wise be destined for the local landfill. There’s occasional bits of oak and maple, I even snatched up an old fir door. It’s huge, and one day I’ll break it down into usable pieces. The grain is perfection you’ve never seen.

Stair treads are becoming a problem. Your typical stairs have 12 to 13 treads, each 3 feet long.

I have too many to count of southern yellow pine floor board cut offs that I can’t think of what to do with, but at 12″x14″x 2″ I just can’t get rid of them.

And cabinets. All the good wood you could harvest from a cabinet door. It’s too much for me. I can’t say no.

Heck, last week I brought home a 2×10 cut off because I liked the grain.

A few months ago, I was invited to an evening of special discounts at my local wood supplier. I stood in the store, with some really great wood in my hand at a very fair price. But I couldn’t buy it. All I could think of was those piles. Years worth of piles of wood sitting in my garage, my basement, even the back of my van. I knew that I couldn’t justify spending a dime until I use up some of this stuff. So I put it down and walked away.

So many mistakes I still need to make, but I’ll get there some day.

Or not…

Oh and one last thing. There was one part of Chris’s statement that left me totally in the dark. I had to google “Altendorf table saw”, but didn’t get past the home page before I got bored.

Too gizmo for this guy…

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

