Fair Woodworking

July 17, 2012

Why write a blog?

Filed under: Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog — fairwoodworking @ 8:51 pm

If you haven’t already noticed. I can think anything to death. Literally. If you have ever had a feeling like you were loosing your life force, there is a good chance I was thinking about you.

It’s not malicious, it’s just what I do…

A while ago, I was reading a post written by Trial & Error discussing the rights and wrongs of blogging technique. This sent me into yet another happy tailspin of self-contemplation, and inner reflection on why I have a blog.
I started off claiming that it was simply a way to record my progress as a woodworker. This was my motto, this was my creed. In reflection, I found that there was very little display of progress, and much ado about my opinions, and my apparent need to set the world straight on everything woodworking.

Thankfully I think I’ve gotten most of that out of my system, and have actually found time to record some of the work I’ve done.

Last night my wife asked me to give her some pictures of my shop and projects that she could use at her work. She has been working with stroke victims, and one man is a formerly avid woodworker. Strokes have a way of changing your hobbies, and he is now left with the desire but not the ability. Many stroke victims are completely unhindered in their ability to think intelligently, but are trapped in bodies that simply will not respond to their commands. Her hope is that my pictures will keep him interested during his therapy.

This got me thinking about what I would want if I ever had a stroke. I’d really like to be able to relive the moments I had in my shop. I’d want to look at the work in progress of the things I made. To read, or be read to, the writings and thoughts I’ve recorded here.

So why write a blog? There are plenty of reasons.

Some have an uncontrollable need to write, others use it to help keep their customers informed about the work they are doing. Some are trying to become the next woodworking demi god, and others just enjoy being a part of the blogging community.

These are all perfectly good reasons to blog, but they are all a little short-sighted in my opinion. Let’s face it, the hours we have left in the shop are numbered. Hopefully it’s a big number but somewhere out there, is the last day we will stand in the shop with a tool in our hand, and wispy shavings clinging to our jeans. With the Canadian average life expectancy now into the 80’s, I have to think that I’ll have many years between the last productive day in the shop, and the day I head up to the big woodshop in the sky.

When all of you have forgotten about the blog called Fairwoodworking, this will be my time capsule from a younger me.

So if you don’t have a blog, do your older future you a favor. Record what you are doing now so you have something to look back on.

Who knows, in between time, someone else may even read it. Don’t believe me? Look at you! You’re reading this crap I’m writing, so why wouldn’t someone else read your stuff.

But who cares about them, do it for yourself.

 

Editors note – If by some reason you are considering taking up my challenge to blog, or you want to get better at it, there are some great resources available. Chris  Schwarz inspired me with a post he made, and The Literary Workshop currently is doing a series on it writing better, Here.

Or you can do what I do and just write what you want, how you want.

 

Cause this is my blog!!!

 

Ha, ha, ha.

4 Comments

  1. I think you have hit the nail on the head with the notion that blogs can be time capsules! With that in mind I should put more effort into completing some projects this year… Thanks for the thoughtful post.

    Comment by Trialanderror — July 18, 2012 @ 8:25 am

  2. Hey Trial,

    You know I’ve been dancing around the concept since I started the blog, I just couldn’t put flesh on the idea until now.

    I like it because it’s motivating, but does not leave me feeling pressured to preform.

    I get enough pressure from work.

    Comment by fairwoodworking — July 19, 2012 @ 6:22 pm

  3. Would you be able to post your thoughts on woodworking if you have had a stroke and can’t use one side. I’ve found some ideas, such as using feather boards, but would like to learn more. I don’t like the idea of settling for pictures of other people’s work (though inspiration is always good). I’d like to know about real life approaches to CONTINUING the work, despite the circumstances. Anything would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

    Comment by pittsfieldguy — August 9, 2012 @ 12:03 pm

    • You know, I’ve never really thought about how I’d approach woodworking itself if I had a stroke. Let me chew on that one a little. I don’t know if I have anything remotely useful to say on the topic, but it is something every one of us should consider.

      “Prepare for the worst, and the best will always happen” – Tito Ortiz

      Comment by fairwoodworking — August 9, 2012 @ 4:14 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Blog at WordPress.com.

