Fair Woodworking

August 9, 2012

Keep moving, nothing new to see here.

Filed under: Skill development,Things I've made — fairwoodworking @ 3:01 pm

So as with many, a regular part of summer is the summer visitor.  It’s a great time to catch up with old friends, and family.
This year my sister in-law is bringing my 5 year old niece. I was informed just a few weeks before they came, that I “was” doing a wood working project with her, and while I was very happy to share a little of my craft with her, it did pose a problem.

What to make.

With no idea of her hand coordination, or attention span, it’s hard to know what to do. I like things that last, so having a craft day with Popsicle sticks, and cotton balls, was not a favorite.

Kids like to nail stuff, but again a 2×4 with a bunch of nails is pretty pointless. It would be nice if the project had some level of heirloom’ishness to it.

Right so let’s make something that she can nail together. Well…. I may be a little too o.c.d. to deal with the bent nails that I know I would have mangled at her age, and even worse. I don’t need to be explaining how she hammered her finger to her mother.

No. We need zero risk when dealing with the children of the in-laws. You know how it is…
In a shop full of sharp stuff, what am I to do?

Hey! Kids like to glue stuff! And I’m pretty sure carpenters glue is non toxic in smaller quantities.

It seems another pencil box was in my not so distant future so I’d better get to work! Them boxes don’t make themselves you know.

So here is a staged shot of us in action. As you can see the pencil box is already done, but my wife wanted a picture of our niece doing her part.

My niece was in charge of keeping my glue knife appropriately supplied with glue, and to tell you the truth, it was kind’a handy.  I offered her the opportunity, and showed her how she could apply the glue with the knife, but she seemed happy with the challenge of manning the glue bottle.

Hey, whatever works. If she’s happy, I’m happy.

After the glue had set, she proudly carried up the box that according to her, “she” built.

It was pretty cute to see.

So yes, just another darned pencil box. I really didn’t explore anything new here. I really didn’t have time, and couldn’t afford the risk either.

It’s made of The mighty 2×10 that I wrote about earlier, and I do have to say that it was an interesting experience to work with entirely quartersawn wood. I’m also surprised how differently the color varies depending on the angle.

I also love the look of all the growth rings. I don’t know a lot about reading growth rings, but I’m assuming that the thicker rings are would be warmer years followed by the thin rings of colder years.

I don’t know, but it counts as cool in my books.

Now to my old nemesis. Scale and dimension, I’ve been beaten again.

Some how I made this one a little taller than I like. It makes it seem a little chunky for my tastes.

I modeled it loosely after my last pencil box made of maple. I think its dimensions were just about perfect.

Ah well.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

