Fair Woodworking

November 1, 2012

If failure is not an option, it wasn’t much of a challenge.

Filed under: dovetail,Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog,Picture issues — fairwoodworking @ 9:37 pm

EDITORS NOTE *** This post is experiencing 3rd party photo hosting “issues”, that will be addressed as time allows. ***

 

Sports equipment ads are funny.

The macho swagger, the promises that their product will make you invincible, the superhero catch phrases saying real men fear nothing. It’s a mockery to intelligent thought.

Healthy fear is the intelligent side of your brain reminding the moron side of your brain that you can’t actually fly.

My favorite dumb catch phrase?

“Because failure is not an option”.

Yes I saw Apollo 13, and yes the line fits there, but unless your mountain bike is the spawn of said spacecraft, you better give your head a shake before that low hanging tree branch at the bottom of the mountain trail does it for you.

Now let us never speak of it again.

Yes?

Anyways, the really great thing about screwing something up royally, is that it makes for something to blog about.

Exhibit A

Well I guess it doesn’t look so bad. I did sneak past the base line a couple of times, but it looks pretty tight. What’s the problem?

Well… The tail board is in backwards…

Exhibit B

Spin them around so the outside faces out, and you now have the single worst cut dovetails I’ve ever cut.

Thankfully this was just a practice joint, but I’m going to have to lay off the paint thinner in the future.

So the question is, what did I do wrong? The gap from the base line is consistent, the angle of the pins vs the tails are pretty close. It has all the apparent makings of a flawless joint, but it is not.

It took me a while to figure it out, and it would have been a cool trick, had I planned on it.

I think I’m going to keep this one.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

