Fair Woodworking

December 27, 2012

Finally safe from the Hairy Eyeball

Filed under: Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog — fairwoodworking @ 7:08 pm

OK. I’ll admit it. I suffer from peer pressure just like the rest of you.

Up to a few days ago, it was commonly accepted knowledge, that the Anarchist’s Tool Chest (ATC) was the only form that was not an abomination to the craft. For the past few years, I have been knowingly living in sin, while using the all too familiar excuse that my tool shelf is temporary.

02 Layout

That along with a non-Roubo work bench, and it’s a wonder that this blog has not been shut down…

But now we live in a new day!

Behold the Dutch tool chests.

dutch_overall_img_5238

Ok, ok. I know this is close to week old news, but it’s news just the same.

I really like the ATC design, but I much prefer to have my tools handy on a shelf in front of me. I’m pretty sure I’ve beaten the rust devil, so the keeping dust off my tools is not a priority, but the biggest thing I don’t like about the ATC is that it’s too heavy  to lift on your own.

For me, that is a deal breaker.

But the Dutch design is not much better. It’s too small. Ya, I can lift it, but there is no way I could fit my entire tool collection into one of them.

Now if only I had two, or maybe three… Without the top section so they were flat topped. All to the same dimensions.

Stack-able, French cleat-able.

Fully portable.

Ah, who am I kidding?

My tools never leave the shop, so why do they need to be portable?

I guess I’ll just have to live with the scorn…

Editors Note – I finally succumbed to the tool chest peer pressure. You can read about it here.

Blog at WordPress.com.

