Fair Woodworking

January 4, 2013

A shoping bag can protect against rust…

Filed under: Rust prevention for hand tools — fairwoodworking @ 12:09 am

It’s funny how one thing can lead to another.

Over the Christmas holidays it rained a lot. The past couple of days brought cold and snow. The result is that the locks on my work truck are all frozen. Thankfully, I know how to break in…

I have a specially designed tool (actually it’s a tent peg) that I can get into the truck, almost as quickly as with a key. I always keep it handy in my tool box (that I also know how to break into).

Today while grabbing my tent peg I noticed in the tool box, my brad nailer that I’ve been looking for all Christmas holidays. Well at the end of the day, I grabbed the gun as I headed towards the house. With gun in hand I felt its cold cut into my palm.

I felt a blog topic brewing because this is a perfect recipe for rust to form.

Anyone that lives in a cold environment, and wears glasses should know the problem here. When you go into a warm room after being in the cold, often times your glasses will fog up. If they are really, really cold, the fog will turn to ice. Now if that happened to one of your tools, say your precious chisels, the moisture could result in rust.

So how do you protect against this? Conventional wisdom would tell you that you must oil your tools to protect against rust, but I think we have all been burned by this wisdom at some point. Oil helps create a barrier from moisture, but oil wipes off, leaving the metal unprotected. And it’s a little messy.

Well here is a much cleaner solution that I will show you here with my nail gun.

Leave the tool out side, and go get a shopping bag.

Halifax-20130103-00054

Bring the bag outside in a tight ball.

 

Halifax-20130103-00055

Open the bag (outside in the cold air!)

 

Halifax-20130103-00056

Put the cold tool/tools in the bag.

 

Halifax-20130103-00057

Fold the bag over so that no air will leak into the bag.

 

Halifax-20130103-00059

Bring it into the warm house and set it on the counter until it’s warm (just let it sit, you don’t want warm air to leak into the bag). The cold air inside the bag tends to be much dryer, and the warm air tends to be much more moist. The warm moist air condensates when it touches something very cold. It can’t touch the gun so the condensation happens on the outside of the bag, leaving the gun safe and dry.

When it’s fully warmed, pull it out of the bag.

Not buying it?

Try it…

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

