Fair Woodworking

April 15, 2013

Shooting the long grain

Filed under: Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog,Hotdog,Low Angle Jack,Shooting board — fairwoodworking @ 1:29 pm

I get a lot of traffic from the search engines on this topic, so I thought I might as well show how I do it.

 

Prepare to be amazed…

 

Or not…

Ya, I know. It doesn’t look like much.

That board makes a better door than a window, so let’s get it out of the way.

Ya, I know. It doesn’t look like much, but that’s the point!

All we have here is a couple of scraps of MDF up against a plane stop. The plane stop just needs to be a little taller than the MDF so it catches the board.

I don’t need to stress about the fence being square or any of that crap. I’ve got a knife line to plane down to, so when I get to the knife line I stop.  If I’m a little heavy on one end, I just plane that end, and pull the plane off the cut before I get to the other end. Once I’ve made a full length shaving, I’ll stop to check that the plane is cutting square to the board, and then I can simply plane to my little hearts desire.

Sometimes I’ll also slap a little paraffin wax on the side wall of the plane so it slides easier.

Blog at WordPress.com.

