Fair Woodworking

July 28, 2013

Flocking – Now legal in all States, except Alabama.

Filed under: Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog — fairwoodworking @ 6:04 pm

Relax, relax.

Flocking, despite its morally corrupt sounding name, is a great solution to the trials of velvet lining jewelry boxes.

I was curious about this flocking thing, so I gave it a try on this little scrap piece of birch.

Application is easy.

Dumb, dumb easy!

The hardest part was getting the lid off of the 8oz can of adhesive.

But hard or easy, its got to be a nice finish. I can’t say that it exactly replicates velvet, but it does still have a nice finish. It’s more like really wicked nice felt crossed with very fine bristled velvet.

I think I’m going to like flocking, but only in the privacy of my own home.

If you are interested in trying it out for yourself, I got my flocking kit from Lee Valley.

 

You may also want to check out this video I found.

Blog at WordPress.com.

