Fair Woodworking

August 22, 2013

My foot hurts

Filed under: Strong opinion warning! — fairwoodworking @ 7:52 pm

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

…and my foot hurts.

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

Today one of my trades did a really stupid thing.

…and my foot hurts.

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

Today one of my trades did a really stupid thing.

A customer called asking a question about some work that was done on their house

…and my foot hurts.

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

Today one of my trades did a really stupid thing.

A customer called asking a question about some work that was done on their house.

I suppose I could have put it off until tomorrow, but I decided to go have a look on my way home.

…and my foot hurts.

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

Today one of my trades did a really stupid thing.

A customer called asking a question about some work that was done on their house.

I suppose I could have put it off until tomorrow, but I decided to go have a look on my way home.

When I arrived, I didn’t have a ladder to reach the front door so I had to go around to the back.

…and my foot hurts.

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

Today one of my trades did a really stupid thing.

A customer called asking a question about some work that was done on their house.

I suppose I could have put it off until tomorrow, but I decided to go have a look on my way home.

When I arrived, I didn’t have a ladder to reach the front door so I had to go around to the back.

As I rounded the corner I wondered why someone next door would have a fire going on such a warm day.

…and my foot hurts.

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

Today one of my trades did a really stupid thing.

A customer called asking a question about some work that was done on their house.

I suppose I could have put it off until tomorrow, but I decided to go have a look on my way home.

When I arrived, I didn’t have a ladder to reach the front door so I had to go around to the back.

As I rounded the corner I wondered why someone next door would have a fire going on such a warm day.

At the back door I found a 12” black circle on a pile of sawdust, and a cigarette butt in the middle.

…and my foot hurts.

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

Today one of my trades did a really stupid thing.

A customer called asking a question about some work that was done on their house.

I suppose I could have put it off until tomorrow, but I decided to go have a look on my way home.

When I arrived, I didn’t have a ladder to reach the front door so I had to go around to the back.

As I rounded the corner I wondered why someone next door would have a fire going on such a warm day.

At the back door I found a 12” black circle on a pile of sawdust, and a cigarette butt in the middle.

As I noted the 3-4 inch flames on top, I quickly kicked the fire about.

…and my foot hurts.

In the day time, I’m a construction manager for a small new home builder.

Today one of my trades did a really stupid thing.

A customer called asking a question about some work that was done on their house.

I suppose I could have put it off until tomorrow, but I decided to go have a look on my way home.

When I arrived, I didn’t have a ladder to reach the front door so I had to go around to the back.

As I rounded the corner I wondered why someone next door would have a fire going on such a warm day.

At the back door I found a 12” black circle on a pile of sawdust, and a cigarette butt in the middle.

As I noted the 3-4 inch flames on top, I quickly kicked the fire about.

As I finished up, I noticed a sharp pain in my foot from the glowing hot 3” nail that had burned through the side of my steel toed boots

…and my foot hurts.

By the time I’d pulled the nail out of my boot, the burns on my fingers hurt as well.

While standing on one foot, thanking the good Lord for such sweaty feet, and my scorched fingers in my mouth, I surveyed what could have happened. The mound of sawdust spread about 4-5 feet over to a 2×6 post that supported a few roof trusses. Had the sequence of events starting with a call from a customer not all happened, I would not have found the fire, and there is a very good chance the house would have burned to the ground. All because some Idiot, some filthy stinking moron of a piece of human excrement, flicked his cigarette on the ground. I see it all the time, smokers that seem to have no problem littering all over this beautiful country without the simple-minded understanding that cigarettes start fires, and turn our towns in to giant ash trays!

So if you are one of them, you are acting like a simple-minded looser, and you should know that you disgust me.

However, I’ve narrowed the fire starting ding-dong to three workers that were on the site. I know all three. They are really good guys. They work hard and care about the quality of their work. When they find out that one of them nearly burned down a house that they were getting paid to help build, they will all be horrified. There is a good change they won’t be getting a good nights sleep as they think about what could have happened, because in the end, they are all really, really good guys.

Who were being horrendous morons.

So if you smoke, either in public or in your workshop. Remember that cigarettes don’t just cause cancer, they also can start deadly fires, and make a disgusting mess of the ground around you.

Now get out there and be a better person, and I will do the same.

2 Comments

  1. so the ” Idiot, some filthy stinking moron of a piece of human excrement” is actually a “really, really good guy”
    your logic is flawed.

    Comment by john sayles — August 24, 2013 @ 12:18 am

    • Hi John, thanks for chiming in.

      Hmm, harsh words for a serial litterer, and an involuntary arsonist? I’d say it’s fair.

      Filthy and stinking aptly describe anyone with a smoking habit.

      Idiot? Moron? Would you not say that anyone that throws a burning substance onto a pile of sawdust could be called either one of these?

      Human excrement. That one has some sting to it. A lot more than the cutesie term “litter bug”.

      You don’t have to be Jeffery Dahmer, or Adolf Hitler to do stupid, harmful, or inappropriate things. Us “good and decent” people do bad stuff without thinking all the time. Well, except for you, you’re perfect (JUST KIDDING!!!) I know I’ve done plenty of really, really, REALLY stupid things that I will forever regret. However, when they came to my attention, I’ve tried to stop doing them because I want to be a good person.

      The point I was trying to make is that smokers that ARE good people need to wake up.
      Yes, they still have the right to smoke. They still have the right to cause cancer in the people around them. (My Aunt died of lung cancer and never smoked a day in her life). They also still have the right too look cool smoking in front of children so that they will one day start smoking as well.

      But, they don’t have the right to litter their butts on the ground everywhere they go.

      Good people that smoke have a moral obligation not to burn shit down! If you really need a smoke, and there isn’t an ash tray around, that is YOUR problem. You also have the right to put that cigarette butt safely in your pocket. You already reek of smoke, and that way if it does start a fire, you will be the first to know.

      Seems fair to me.

      Comment by fairwoodworking — August 24, 2013 @ 11:09 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

