Fair Woodworking

July 5, 2014

LN bound

Filed under: Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog — fairwoodworking @ 12:10 am

First off. If you are sitting in a hotel in Maine getting ready to attend the Dutch Tool Chest class at LN tomorrow, I should apologize in advance. You’ll probably be able to pick me out of the group if you watch out for a few things. I’ll be the one that is too loud, too easily distracted, too quick with a dumb joke, too stinky, or too Canadian.
Or you can just look for the goofball that shows up with a his tools stored in a DTC and a fresh coat of paint.
The truth is I feel a little like a turd to take a class to build something I just finished building, but I have to think I’m not the first one.

I’m also not entirely attending the class because the teacher is a personal hero, although I’ll admit that when I ran into him at the tool barn this afternoon, I did pee a little. Good thing I brought a spare pair of underwear.

The big reason was that I’ve always wanted to, but never did take a woodworking course before. You see I, like many, am self taught. Very self taught, and I can’t think of a worse way to learn woodworking. The thing is, although I’m not a great woodworker, I don’t think I’ve ever had the chance to work with another woodworker that is clearly superior to me in their skill and knowledge.
This is a chance for me to try to learn something from a real live person, and not a book or website.

So ya, I’m going to look like a keener try hard tomorrow.  I don’t mind that.
I just want to see if I can learn something I’ve missed, or un learn a bad habit that I don’t know I have.
If you are self taught, don’t make the mistake of wearing it like a badge of honor. The absence of a teacher is a weakness not a strength.

Just go try to fing someone who is better than you, and try to learn something.
It’s good for you

2 Comments

  1. Good luck with the class. I’ve wanted to check out LN toolworks for some time but I can’t seem to get my family to tag along. And when you say that being self taught isn’t all it’s cracked up to be I agree with you 100%. I’ve taken about a half dozen woodworking classes-I would love to take more but they can get expensive-and learned more than I learned from reading 50+ books. To me, woodworking is a visual art, and all the theory in the world means nothing until you see it done in person. I hope Schwarz lives up to the hype.

    Comment by billlattpa — July 5, 2014 @ 12:25 am

  2. 100% with you here, self taught until I got to Roy’s in 2011. Besides meeting a hero, it was completely game changing for my skills. Laying out with marking knives “clicked” and I finally figured out what “sharp” was.
    Hope you have fun, I will be looking for snarky tweets from all the #realwoodworking going on (Also tremendously jealous of you hangin’ with CS who I need to get a class from.)

    Comment by Jeremy — July 5, 2014 @ 12:58 am


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

