Fair Woodworking

September 5, 2014

Have a flat chance with woodworking.

Filed under: Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog — fairwoodworking @ 2:28 pm

If you search this blog, you won’t find much about winding sticks. It may even look like I’m not a fan of them. The truth is they are an amazingly simple and effective tool to determine how flat a board is, and exactly where you need to plane to make a board flat.

Most of my work is too small to require winding sticks, but for non jewelry box work, they are a must.

You can use just about anything that is straight with two parallel edges, for this task, but there is something a little off about using rough scrap metal for such a fine and important test. You can do it, but it just seems wrong.

A valued friend of mine has just released a limited run of some truly beautiful winding sticks that are worth considering.

He writes about them here.

I’m sure many of you are already familiar with Neil and his work. I have had the pleasure of working with him in his shop and I’ll tell you a little secret. Although I ride him incessantly, his need to complete every task to perfection would often find him still working while I had wondered off to play with a paper clip or something.

Check his stuff out.

Blog at WordPress.com.

