Fair Woodworking

April 10, 2015

The Amana Equation

Filed under: Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog — fairwoodworking @ 1:45 pm

Is there such a thing as an e-social disorder? I don’t think I have one, but then what is up with my apparent need to be anonymous on my blog, twitter, and Instagram? Well despite recurring dreams that I can fly but only when wearing nothing but a pancake on my head, I think I’m pretty normal.
The truth is, I do it for a couple simple reasons.
1. Woodworking is important to me, and I find I tend to bore, nay alienate perfectly good non woodworking friends as I wax poetic on the benefits of draw boring breadboards.
For my non woodworking friends, ignorance is bliss.

2. I don’t care about the fame. There are enough wanabe superstars in the world of internet woodworking. My woodworking worth is not defined by my association to the in crowd.

3. It’s loads of fun when someone figures out who I am on their own. I laugh every time I think back to when people have dropped the subtle hint that I am found out.
A favorite was in a meeting, when a guy referred to me as ToeJamb, in reference to the handle I was using on twitter at the time.
I don’t know.  I thought it was funny. We had a good laugh over it.

So all that is fine and good, but what to do when you want to meet people that you’ve gotten to know on the internet in person, in a large crowd of people you don’t know. Like next months Handworks in Amana.

This issue suddenly occurred to me when Jeremy of JMAW Works asked the question while commenting on one of my posts.

So what do we do? It seems a bit pretentious to put my logo on a shirt (plus I don’t want to disappear in the JMAW fanboy crowd)

While I actually do aim for anonymity, many bloggers and twitter/IG’ers are not easily recognized by the pictures of their hands holding chisel and mallet.

In my mind, this is what I’ve begun calling “The Amana Equation”.

While there are plenty of tool manufactures attending that I really look forward to meeting, it would be a bit of a disappointment if I leave Amana without having made at least a couple new “real life” woodworking friends.

But short of standing on a table and shouting “I’m that fairwoodworking guy” to a silent, and disturbed crowd, meeting some of you may be difficult.

I know I’ve started paying much more attention to what I see and hear on the internet. Any hint that will help me spot you in a crowd.

I’ve also been trying to come up with something to wear that would easily identify me to those that would care other than a Fairwoodworking t-shirt or the pancake of my flying dreams.

I’ll keep working on an idea, and keep you posted.

2 Comments

  1. My selfish plan was to attempt to start a hashtag campaign #HandWorksMugShots where people would provide an identifier for themselves (I.e. A selfportrait or #self…cantbringmyselftosayit) If you are trying to remain sort of anonymous, #hidefeomthelaw #notallowedtoleavecanada you might consider a non-biometric identifier. The obvious would be a smiley face and bandaid on your finger, though that may be harder to make out in a crowd, so the pancake thing might be valid, or at shirt with a pancake on it. Just give us all know.

    Comment by Jeremy — April 11, 2015 @ 7:52 pm

    • I’m leaning towards some kind of name tag/sticker slogan kind of thing. Something that would be recognizable if you were looking, but not too in your face. #realwoodworkers might get me beat up…

      Comment by fairwoodworking — April 11, 2015 @ 8:29 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Blog at WordPress.com.

