Fair Woodworking

February 16, 2016

A fresh start at social woodworking

Filed under: Fair Woodworking & Hand Tool Blog — fairwoodworking @ 1:38 am

Well I for one enjoyed much of this past long weekend in my shop, and it’s safe to say that I spent more time in the shop these last three days than I think I did in the past three months. Quite frankly, I’m exhausted! Not physically, and not really intellectually. It’s hard to verbalize, but let’s give it a try.

I’m exhausted… detail-ally. My attention to detail muscles are aching. After the uncomfortable realization that I hadn’t cut a dovetail in over a year and a half, I quickly rediscovered a number of hand skills I’d allowed to fade into the background.

What I’m saying is. It’s easy for one guy to allow his hobby to slip away with all the distractions that life has to offer despite the fact that it’s really not all that difficult to get just one guy into a workshop located in his basement from time to time.

The logistics are simple, but motivation can be a problem.

What happens if you hope to woodwork at a social level?

Last month, I got on a rant about woodworking clubs, and vowed that Me and my friend were going to get together and show those useless clubs how it’s done!

And we did.

There was no guest speaker, there was no presidents speech. There was no $70 renewal fee.

But there was wood, and there were sharp things to work the wood, and wood was worked!

Yes, two dudes were working wood in one of their shops. OH, and let’s not forget the pan of cupcakes leftover from my nieces birthday party!

20160124_124301

It was a good start.

Next weekend will be our second meeting. I’m really looking forward to it, and excited that we expect to see two new members to our little non-club woodworking group. Four dudes working wood… I can’t really picture how we’re going to make that happen, and just like that, logistics are no longer all that simple. Not many shops can handle four people, but it’s something I’m willing to try to make work. Somehow we have to make this work! How many of us out in the woodworking blogosphere dream of having three other woodworkers to hang out with?

I know that when logistics and multiple schedules are involved, bumping elbows in a dusty shop will need motivation from all members. I hope we all are up to the challenge, otherwise it will be easy to let this group go the way of the 18 month dovetail.

Stay tuned as I/we attempt a Fresh start at social woodworking.

 

1 Comment

  1. Based on some of the Roubo plates you ought to be able to fit 8-10 in your shop.
    I think this is a great idea, and hope more of this happens. I’ve been trying to groom folks to come to work in my shop, from my kids to other people that I like to hang out with that aren’t yet woodworkers.

    Comment by Jeremy — February 16, 2016 @ 12:01 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

